County Commission


The Board of County Commissioners is the governing body of a county. Its duties, by state law, are both legislative and executive.


The Board's responsibility is the overall management of the County government operations.

A County Manager is appointed by the Board and is responsible for the day-to-day operation of the County. The County Manager supervises the work of appointed department heads and appoints non-elected department heads, with Board approval. The Board also appoints members of necessary boards and committees for projects and programs.

The Board, (which can be directed by an elected or appointed official) determines all department budgets. It sets the tax rate for all taxing entities of the County. It oversees county property purchases, sales, and construction and awards bids for services and supplies.

The current Board of Commissioners supports an open door policy which encourages public comment, suggestions, inquiries and attendance at all Board meetings. Minutes are taken and typed by the County Clerk at all meetings, public hearings, and bids.


The Board of County Commissioners is given the power to control budget, levy taxes, and enact ordinances. It can analyze and settling all accounts of receipts and expenses. It also provides for the issuance of bond financing for public buildings, roads, utilities, hospitals, and libraries. It carries out election, planning and zoning, and health and safety functions.


Commissioners must conduct all official actions during open public meetings. Official business is noted on agendas and publicized before action can be taken. 

County Commissioner Board meetings are held the second Wednesday of the month at 9:00 am in the County Commission Chambers at the County Manager's Office, 305 Pyramid St.

Agendas for the meetings are posted at the courthouse and on this web site.

Requirements to be a County Commissioner

  • Must be a United States Citizen
  • Must be at least eighteen years of age
  • Must be a registered voter
  • Elected at large from the county
  • Duties and other requirements to serve as commissioner are located in the New Mexico Statutes 1978, Article 38, 4-38-1 through 4-38-42

Hidalgo County Commissioners


Commissioner Darr Shannon

shannon.jpgMs. Shannon was born in Lordsburg during the devastating drought of the 1950's with family roots in the area dating back to 1890.  She grew up on a ranch north of Lordsburg, New Mexico. After graduating from Lordsburg High School in 1970, she attended NMSU and ENMU, but the pull of ranching brought her home.

She is passionate about her position as County Commissioner and responsiblity to protect private property rights of county citizens. She works to conserve county taxpayers' hard-earned money and strives to be responsible and accountable in everthing she does, including mistakes. Her goal is to keep unfair politics out of government.

Commissioner Joey Mora

Mr. Mora is a lifelong resident of Hidalgo County with experience in local City Government, School Board and County Government.  Now serving his third term as County Commissioner, looking forward to working with all Local and State agencies to create a positive, safe and rewarding community.

Resolutions passed by the Hidalgo County Commission for 2017: